The Diocese is divided into two Archdeaconries each headed by an archdeacon with a number of smaller deanery units within them.

Archdeaconries are the principal sub-division of dioceses for administrative and judicial purposes and date from the twelfth century.

Archdeacons, as the senior Bishop's Officers, have responsibility for the care of the clergy and church communities within their Archdeaconry.

Duties include:

  • The induction of churchwardens.
  • Legal powers to give permission via the Church's own Planning Permission system (Faculty Jurisdiction), for work on the repair and ordering of church buildings.
  • Responsibility for the checking of parish records and church valuables.
  • In the Ely diocese, the responsibility for the practical and legal issues relating to the appointment of clergy.
  • Working with others in pastoral re-organisation, clergy housing and occasionally with disciplinary matters.

The Archdeacon of Cambridge cares for most of south and east Cambridgeshire. The Archdeacon of Huntingdon and Wisbech looks after the whole of Huntingdonshire, southern Peterborough, north east Cambridgeshire and west Norfolk. Much of the planning for the local Church's life and mission is carried out at parish and deanery levels.

The Archdeaconry of Huntingdon and Wisbech contains eight deaneries, listed below.

  • Ely
  • Fincham and Feltwell
  • Huntingdon
  • March
  • St Ives
  • St Neots
  • Wisbech Lynn Marshland
  • Yaxley

The Archdeaconry of Cambridge comprises seven deaneries, listed below.

  • Bourn
  • Cambridge North
  • Cambridge South
  • Fordham and Quy
  • Granta
  • North Stowe
  • Shingay
Page last updated: Thursday 19th September 2019 12:02 PM
Powered by Church Edit